Post Election Thoughts

First, let me apologize for all the political posts recently.  I try to post more interesting things, but this has been on my mind a lot.  I am working on my own writing more and trying to find better ways to share it.

I spent most of yesterday offline, avoiding Facebook and Twitter for the most part.  It helped to get my head in order and to get my emotions under control.  I highly recommend this if you are feeling overwhelmed by it all.

In thinking about the election and the results I’ve had some thoughts.

Third party candidates.  If you want to be seen as a viable contender and not a joke or a throwaway vote, you need to make some changes.  First, you have to play a long game.  You can’t just jump to the front of the line and win the presidency.  Focus on the state level elections first.  Build a true party.  Win seats in state legislatures, then win some seats in Congress.  Stop with the bullshit joking and act like a real candidate.  We all saw the ridiculousness that Gary Johnson did and some of the stupid things that Jill Stein said.  If you want to be taken seriously, you have to act like it.  Focus on the real issues.  Then you can have a real chance at winning the presidency.

Stop with this “Not My President” and secession bullshit.  For 8 years, Republicans and Tea Partiers pulled this bullshit and Democrats always called them out on it.  Now when the shoe is on the other foot, we liberals are doing the same things.  It’s still just as childish and stupid.  It just makes you sound petty.  I didn’t vote for the asshole, and I am seriously concerned about what he can do in power, but this talk doesn’t help.

Same goes for the “I’m running to Canada.”  Every 4 years somebody says this, and then nobody acts on it.  It just makes you sound stupid and it gives the other side a point to mock you on.  If you’re gonna talk the talk, then you need to walk the walk.  Otherwise, shut the fuck up and work within the system to make a difference.  If everyone with a dissenting opinion leaves, then there is no one left to challenge and power will go unchecked.  That’s not good for anyone.

That is my last point.  Not happy?  Work within the system to make changes.  Call your congressman.  Run for office.  Work to make changes.  Shut the fuck up with your bitching on Facebook and get out there and make a real difference.

Leave a Reply

