What. The. Fuck. America.

It’s currently 5:00 am, I went to bed before the election results were final, but I just found out.  America has decided to embrace intolerance, racism, and fear to an extent we’ve never done so before.  I’m sick, disgusted, angry, depressed, and ashamed.  So much for the beacon on the hill.  I thought we were better than this.

Make America Hate Again

I didn’t want to believe that this could happen.  This isn’t about Democrats and Republicans.  This is about electing a dangerously unstable person who has been proven time and time again to be a liar, a cheat, and whose entire campaign was based around preying on our worst fears and the lowest common denominator.

Make America Racist Again

The KKK.  Seriously, we just elected a man in 2016, who was openly endorsed by the KKK, and did not refuse their endorsement.  The fucking Ku Klux Klan.

Make America Fear Again

This is our own fault.  We did this to ourselves.  For all our talk about being the best and most enlightened country.  We are nothing more than racist hillbillies.  We have elected our drunk, lecherous, uncle who no one wants to be around at Thanksgiving to the highest office in the land.

Make America Afraid Again

For weeks this post has been brewing in my head.  I had this sitting in there, just in case this were to happen.  I had planned on laying the blame at the feet of the uninformed voters, the non-voters, the Bernie supporters who refused to back Hillary, but now I’m just sick and disgusted.  It may be that I’m tired and only running on a few hours sleep, and the shock hasn’t worn off yet.  I’m still very angry at those people, but for right now I’m just sad.

Make America Pay Again

I’m white and straight, so I know that whatever happens I have a fair amount of privilege to protect me.  But, I worry for my non-white friends, my LGBT friends.  All those people who dream of coming to America to make a better life.  Those who see us as a utopia on the hill.  All those people just saw us elect a monster.  They all know what he is.  Now, our only hope is that he isn’t as bad as we think he will be.

Make America Reich Again

I’m sure there will be rage and anger in the future, but for now, it’s just depression.  Sadness.  Shame.  We shit this bed, and now it’s time for us to lie in it.

One thought on “What. The. Fuck. America.

Leave a Reply

