Facebook: A Wretched Hive of Scum and Villany

Is there anything more polarizing in this modern world than Social Media, especially Facebook?  Most of us use it, most of us don’t like everything about it.  Between random people you went to High School with or coworkers, our friends list is an eclectic mixture.

Personally, I have a love-hate relationship with it.  I’m a liberal atheist and I feel I’m pretty open about being a liberal atheist.  For the most part, I just try to post fun things and keep things light, but every now and then reality will come in and I’ll post about some current event or political item.  This brings out all the people who have opposing viewpoints and the shouting matches begin.  No one’s opinion is changed, but everyone just walks away mad.  It’s an angry circle jerk of opposing views resulting in nothing but awkwardness.

I’ve wanted to close my Facebook account on numerous times, but the site for all it’s problems does have some positives.  There are people who I do generally give a shit about on there and it’s a great tool for keeping in touch with people and family.  That works especially good for me since most of my family is thousands of miles away.  But there are still those trolls and people with extreme opposite viewpoints who will just shout you down.

Now an overly opinionated asshole like me, I can’t just walk away or let it go.  For some reason, I have this “Can’t let the terrorists win” attitude when it comes to Facebook.  I hate feeling like I was forced out by a small percentage of assholes.

I am on nearly every social media platform.  I have a really boring job and I like finding different ways to amuse myself.  I use twitter the most, and I think I have a pretty good handle on who I follow and who I don’t on there.  Twitter for me is a kind of geeky stream of consciousness.  I have a tumblr, and while I still don’t think I fully know how to use the site I have fun with it and mostly post just fun geeky things.  For some reason, I can’t keep my damn mouth shut on Facebook.  Every now and then I just have to spout up about some random event or thing and my problems start all over again.

I think my biggest problem is that I’ve never gone through and culled my friends list.  I’ve unfollowed some people, but I really need to get in there and clear some people out.  That is my first step.  Secondly I need to find a better outlet for the frustrations of daily life.  Instead of posting something controversial on there, I need to channel that into my writing.  (If only I had a blog site where I could post stuff?)  I also need to stop going down to where the trolls live and poking them with a stick.

Writing on here is a much better focus of my energies than some passive-aggressive post on Facebook.  I think we can all agree that those are the worst.

One thought on “Facebook: A Wretched Hive of Scum and Villany

  1. Okay – let me jump in here and tell you my experience with facebook. I had it from the moment it was born pretty much. I was a freshman in college and it was only open to college people back then. Your home page was your profile and the feed didn’t exist yet. There was no cover photo, no ads, no groups, poking, games, invites, or whatever nonsense goes on now.
    I got rid of it 2.5 years ago and have never felt better about myself, my life, and I really think that facebook brought me down.
    People always use the excuse of wanting to stay in touch with family and seeing what they’re up to. Let me tell you – I have no family in the United States, except my immediate family which I see quite often. Every one else is in Australia or Europe since both my parents are immigrants. I gave myself the same excuse about staying in touch.
    Then I began to realize that their posts were the same as everyone else’s; I could really take it or leave it.
    What drove me to shutting down was seeing the way people constantly posted on facebook but couldn’t answer my text messages or call me back. On top of that, it frustrated me the way people would post about their lives and make it look *so* awesome that inevitably, I would always feel like I’m not good enough or have the dreaded (gasp) “fear of missing out.” This stuff is very real though people don’t talk about it.
    One day, I had enough. I deactivated with the thought that I might want to go back there some day. I still remember the date…March 23, 2013. And I’ve never gone back. I don’t remember my password and have no inclination to retrieve it.
    I had a love-hate relationship too, but the question I had to ask myself was – at what point did it become more of a hate relationship than a love relationship? At what point did I realize that I would leave it feeling bad instead of neutral or good?
    Honestly – like you – I have twitter (love it!) and instagram and snapchat and pinterest. It’s just facebook that I got rid of and I’m SO much better for it.
    Sorry for the rant and the long winded comment but I still get worked up over facebook and wish that more people would at least try going without to see if they like it.

Leave a Reply

