You should be reading comics

I’m sure pretty much anyone who grew up geeky in the last 50 years has read a comic book at least once.  I am no different.  I read them as a kid in the mid 90’s during the Event-a-palooza times with things like the Death of Superman, Xmen comics relaunch, creation of Image comics and more.

This wasn’t exactly the golden age of comics.

Like most things, I grew out of it, still reading the occasional trade that I would borrow from a friend or I would pick up at random.  But, I always kind of felt a little jealous of those friends who knew all the backstories and had been reading them for years.

Fastforward to summer 2011 and several announcements from the big publishers and a slew of great comic book movies helped to push me over the edge and into my local comic book shop where I started my first weekly hold.

Of course that first hold was only 4 titles and it seems that with each passing week I’ve added more and more new titles.  There are just so many great stories being told right now.

If you are like me and have always wondered or wanted to get into comics, now is a great time to get started.  DC’s relaunch of there main titles (aka “The New 52”) has helped to ease people worrying about not knowing 40+ years of history and stories.  Recent Marvel events have also created several great jumping on points for there books as well.  Add to that the recent movies helping to get people a jump start on characters and backstories and you have a perfect jumping on point for new readers.

But, what if you live in an area without a local comic book store?  Well, you are in luck!  Another aspect of DC’s relaunch was putting all there titles out digitally the same day as print, Marvel is slowly following suit.  You can download them to any Android or iOS device as well as on your PC.

So there you have it, you have no more excuses!  There are so many great stories being told right now and fantastic artists and writers working today that you really are doing yourself a disservice if you are not checking them out.

One thought on “You should be reading comics

  1. I was very pleased to find this web-site.I wanted to thanks for your time for this wonderful read!! I definitely enjoying every little bit of it and I have you bookmarked to check out new stuff you blog post.

Leave a Reply

