Firefly, the blog saga continues…

In what is becoming my very own “Trilogy of Terror”, I am now posting my third blog on Firefly.  I’ve started watching the series, thanks to a friend literally shoving the discs in my hand and saying “Watch it!”

I’ve managed the first 7 episodes and I just can’t bring myself to put the next disc in.  I have to admit defeat.  I just can’t do it anymore.

I do have to say that I don’t hate the show.  It was most definitely over-hyped.  On the whole I never saw anything in the series that really got better than a B-, and that wasn’t much.  It was just not a show for me.

The show does have it’s own identity, and it’s own unique take on the genre.  But, it’s just becoming very hard for me to find anything to really grasp onto, something to care about or find myself invested in.  There are nice moments, decent stories, but just nothing for me to grasp on to.  Most of it, I just don’t care enough about the characters or what is going on to continue on.

I do have to keep reminding myself that this show was not designed to be a mini-series or a single run show.  I think, that if it had succeeded on TV, it would’ve run for more seasons and it might have grown into something I like.  I keep comparing it to the first season of Star Trek: The Next Generation.  Go back and watch that now, and it’s virtually un-watchable.  I can only imagine someone who was new to Star Trek and was recommended to watch Next Gen and having to sit through the utter dreck of that first season.

In the end, is this a bad show? Not really.  Is it a better more interesting show than I thought it would be? Yes.  Is there enough there for me to keep going and embrace the show? Sadly, no.

One thought on “Firefly, the blog saga continues…

  1. I loved this series. I found the characters delightful and endearing. I found the oppressive government control to be a reasonable villain that was both insidious and far reaching. The blend of cowboy and space traveler reminded me of the original Star Trek series, only I think Firefly caught the ethos of both genres and blended them better that ST did.

Leave a Reply

